Feeds:
Posts
Comments

Archive for August 20th, 2008

Can Our Minds Get Too “Renewed”?

I love peeking into other people’s reading lists, especially the ones where the reader and I share common interests. I’ve gleaned several wonderful book recommendations from studying other people’s lists including Where Life and Beliefs Collide by Carolyn Custis James, The Well-Trained Mind by Jessie Wise and Susan Wise Bauer, and Heartfelt Discipline by Clay Clarkson.

Several of my favorite bloggers (be they thought-provoking, challenging, irritating or entertaining) have posted updates to their readings lists. And I’ve discovered a startled and disheartening trend. The vast majority of the books these ladies are reading are all homemaker/mothering/healthy eating/child discipline books. I mean, seriously, there is not a theological or fiction book to be found! Anywhere! And I have to wonder- how do they sort through all this information about the same subject?? You’d think they could write a book themselves from gathering all this knowledge.

I’ll be the first to admit that I’ve read plenty and I mean plenty of homemaker/mothering/healthy eating/child discipline books. I think that’s why I’m so confused. Well, I’m not exactly confused, but I certainly think that my thinking is more muddled than if I had just tried to figure it all out by myself by gathering information from the people who I know have been successful at the endeavors in which I find myself.

Do we seriously need to read four books each on these subjects in one year? Do I really need to read To Train Up a Child AND Shepherding a Child’s Heart and How To Raise Your Children For Christ and Successful Christian Parenting to discover “God’s way” of child training? (Yes, that is from one book list). I know I’m being picky… I just wish that we Christian women would expand our intellectual horizons just a bit!

For the record, here is a list of the books I am currently reading:

Twilight by Stephanie Meyer
The Trinity and Subordinationism by Kevin Giles
Creative Correction by Lisa Welchel
Respectable Sins by Jerry Bridges
Through Western Eyes, Eastern Orthodoxy: A Reformed Perspective by a guy who’s name escapes me at the moment.

Read Full Post »